In Which She Walks Away

I cannot know
as much as you say
you know me.

It is a renouncement
to be loved this long,
this sacredly
without my knowing.

I hope to want to follow
where you go
but already
you follow me,
else we go round in circles,
this never-ending
meeting in parts.

Forgive me those years
you’ve known me
without myself,
wherefore have they gone
except always arriving
in your steadfastness,
my failure.

We shall be opposites,
the first ships
to sail with the ocean
as their destination.

from Early Work: Poems 2000-2007 (2011)

Leave a Reply

